Disease, Illness & ConditionsOral HealthAches & PainsInjuriesEye CareChildren's HealthFirst AidAlternative MedicineMental HealthWellnessOlder AdultsDisabilitiesHealth Care IndustryReproductive Health

Organic India Tulsi Green Tea - A Review

Updated on January 2, 2017
rajan jolly profile image

Rajan is a botany and chemistry major. He has worked as a poultry breeder for 23 years, breeding layer and broiler parents.

Organic India Tulsi Green Tea

Source

I Drink Two Cups Every Day

I have been drinking Organic India's Tulsi Green Tea for a few years now. I drink two cups a day, one in the morning and the other at night, just before I go to sleep.

After being a regular drinker of this brand of tea for so many years, I have found that it has benefited me in more ways than one. A brief summary of the benefits that have I have experienced are:

  • More alertness and less fatigue.
  • Improvement in stamina.
  • Improvement in digestive function.
  • No incidence of respiratory problems like cough, colds, etc., even in extreme winter.
  • No health issues.

Tulsi Green Tea Leaves

Source

About Tulsi and Green Tea

About Tulsi

Tulsi has been revered in India for over 5,000 years as a healing spice for the body, mind, and spirit. It is associated with a remarkable heritage of restorative powers and stress-relieving properties.

Some of the benefits of Tulsi are:

  • Reduces stress and helps to relax
  • Boosts stamina and keeps one going
  • Fights illnesses like cough, colds, etc., lowers fever
  • Reduces cholesterol
  • Eliminates toxins and supports the liver
  • Protects against radiation
  • Regulates blood pressure and blood sugar; supports the blood vessels and heart
  • Strengthens immunity
  • Rich in antioxidants
  • Improves digestion and metabolism

About Green Tea

One of the least-processed of all tea varieties is green tea, and it therefore possesses the maximum antioxidant polyphenols among all varieties of tea.

Some of the benefits of green tea are:

  • Rich in catechin polyphenols especially epigallocatechin-3-gallate (EGCG), a powerful antioxidant which inhibits cancer cell growth, prevents abnormal blood clotting.
  • Antibacterial, prevents tooth decay, food poisoning, etc.
  • Reduces cholesterol and prevents heart disease.
  • Improves immunity.
  • Burns fat.
  • Anti-aging benefits.

A Refreshing Cup of Tulsi Green Tea

Source

Why I Choose Organic India Tulsi Green Tea

The above-mentioned benefits of tulsi and green tea can be had by buying any good brand of these teas. My reasons for choosing Organic India's Tulsi Green Tea are:

  • A global leader in organic foods and health products.
  • Certified organic - a sure way to trust that the purchase is pure, safe, and uncontaminated.
  • Tested to guarantee that the products are free from all toxins.
  • Premium quality tea blend.
  • Promotes sustainable organic agriculture and protects the natural ecosystem.
  • Supports thousands of marginal farmers and tribal wild crafters in rural India.
  • This amazing combination refreshes, energizes and tastes wonderful.

Organic India's Tulsi Green Tea is a combination of tulsi and green tea that promotes healthy metabolism which is vital to weight management and can help in reducing weight.

Both Tulsi and green tea are rich in antioxidants which eliminate damaging free radicals in the body and have a vast array of remarkable benefits some of which have been outlined above.

Are There Any Cons?

The only cons of green tea is that it contains caffeine—but it has only 30-60 mg caffeine in 180 to 240 ml tea, as compared to over 100 mg caffeine in 240 ml of coffee. That isn't much caffeine.

Precautions

No side effects have been reported. However those who are pregnant, breastfeeding, or attempting to conceive should consult their healthcare practitioner before starting this health routine.

Tea-Making Directions

For Hot Tea

Put 1 tsp tea in a cup (120 ml). Pour boiling water directly on the leaves. cover and infuse for 3 to 4 minutes.
Add sweetener, if desired. I add a tsp of honey for added benefit and flavor.
Strain and serve without adding milk.

For Iced Tea

After straining the tea in the above case, let it cool for 15 -20 minutes. Refrigerate for 1 hour.
Add icecubes and some drops of lemon juice to enhance the taste.
Serve.

For Tea Bags

Use 1 tea bag in a cup of hot water. Infuse for 3 to 4 minutes.
Add sweetener if desired.
Serve without milk.

Final Thoughts

I feel that drinking this tea has benefited my health, and I would highly recommend it for those who have no major health issues.

However, to be on the safe side, do consult your doctor or healthcare provider before incorporating this tea into your daily diet.

Again, I want to stress that this is an independent review, not sponsored in any way by Organic India. I was inspired to write this article because I wanted to share the benefits I have experienced as a result of drinking this tea.

Benefits Of Tulsi (HolyBasil)

Benefits Of Green Tea

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      Indian Chef, you can get this tea easily at any of the superstores. It does taste awesome. Thanks for reading and sharing.

    • Indian Chef profile image

      Indian Chef 4 years ago from New Delhi India

      Green tea with Tulsi, that looks like 100% winner on health. I do not know what a combined taste would be but I am sure since you have written on it then it must be very well researched and has enormous health benefits. I would try to see if I can get it on a grossery shop or More Mega mart in Delhi. Voting up and sharing and awesome.

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      @Peggy-the fresh leaves can also be used to make this tea and would have the same benefits. Of course you need to tear or cut the leaves so that the oils ooze out easily and simmer the tea for a few minutes too.

      Thanks fro the votes and sharing.

      @Jill-This for sure doesn't taste like cardboard, lol! Organic India teas are available in the U.S. too. I hope you try this one and see how it goes.

    • The Dirt Farmer profile image

      Jill Spencer 4 years ago from United States

      My husband loves green tea. We'll have to try this brand. All of types of green tea on the market are definitely not the same quality-wise! Some of it tastes like liquid cardboard to me. Thanks!

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 4 years ago from Houston, Texas

      Hi Rajan,

      Like another person who commented said...you are a walking testimonial to the benefits of following a healthy lifestyle. I have a number of teas in our home but not tulsi green tea. I am assuming that since it comes from the holy basil plant it must have a basil taste? We grow regular basil in our garden. I wonder if I would make a tea from it if it would have some of the same health benefits? UUI votes and will share and pin.

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      Thanks for your input Dilip. It does taste better with honey.

    • dilipchandra12 profile image

      Dilip Chandra 4 years ago from India

      I take Organic India Tulsi Ginger tea regularly. Also, i like Tetley green tea, i take this daily in the morning. Green tea with honey and also Tulsi Ginger tea with honey, tastes awesome.

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      This is a bit different since it also has tulsi in it but yes one has to develop a taste for it as most people are not used to drinking this.

    • sweetie2 profile image

      sweetie2 4 years ago from Delhi

      Rajan I have tried Green Teas but I never actually like the taste of Green teas.. Top it with no milk.. not easy to drink for me.

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      @ moonlake - thanks. You could certainly check out with the health food stores or can get it from the organic India's website. They have a US website too.

      @ seanorjohn - glad to know you like the info. Thanks for visiting.

    • seanorjohn profile image

      seanorjohn 4 years ago

      Wow I never knew green tea had such huge health benefits. Well done Rajan on explaining all of this so clearly. Voted up

    • moonlake profile image

      moonlake 4 years ago from America

      I like green tea but never knew about Tulsi Green Tea. Voted up, shared pinned and tweeted. I don't know if I could find it in my small town, maybe the health food store. Thanks so much for letting us know about this tea.

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      Good to know this Devika. Appreciate your visit. Thanks.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 4 years ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Organic India Tulsi Green Tea, sounds a good idea and such an informative hub on the topic. I enjoy most teas and this one too.

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      @ Radhika - I,m sure you will like this and it will be doubly healthy too. Thanks for the visit, votes and sharing.

      @ Carol - Thanks for stopping by and I appreciate the sharing.

      @ Eddy - That's a might big compliment. Thanks so much. I appreciate the votes and sharing.

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 4 years ago from Wales

      Well here we go this week again;another wonderful and interesting hub. I have saved all these into a folder as I know they could come in handy any time.

      Have a great day rajan my friend.

      Voted up,across and shared too.

      Eddy.

    • carol7777 profile image

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      though we are serious coffee drinkers this is quite a boost for tea. I have heard of the benefits of green tea but not this brand. You are a walking testimonial ...Voting up and pinning.

    • radhikasree profile image

      Radhika Sreekanth 4 years ago from Mumbai,India

      I like drinking green tea when I'm involved in doing something that requires much concentration. Organic Tulsi tea is new to me, I would buy it next time when I visit the herbal shop. Thanks for sharing this great information.

      Voted up, useful and interesting. Shared too.

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      @ Joe - Thanks for all the kind words my friend. And for being a regular supporter of my hubs. Much appreciated.

      @ Ruchira - You get this brand of tea in the U.S. too so you can use it more. Thanks for visiting.

    • Ruchira profile image

      Ruchira 4 years ago from United States

      I got this packet from india when I visited india last. Use it very wisely; since I love it.

      Great hub, Rajan

    • hawaiianodysseus profile image

      Hawaiian Odysseus 4 years ago from Southeast Washington state

      Rajan, it's high time I wean myself from coffee and make the healthy transition to green tea. Your hub is helpful, inspiring, and motivational. I love your health ministry and your wonderful, humble, and respectful approach to helping all of us. Thank you so very much, and I wish you continued success in spreading this health message for years to come. Have a nice day, my friend!

      Joe

    • rajan jolly profile image
      Author

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      Thanks Bill for the read and the vote up. Good to hear you drink green tea. The Organic India brand of teas is available in the U.S.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      You know, I do believe this is sold here in the U.S....seems like I have seen that label and brand. Anyway, we drink green tea here and love it. Thank you for the review.