Aches & PainsAlternative MedicineChildren's HealthDisabilitiesDisease, Illness & ConditionsEye CareFirst AidHealth Care IndustryInjuriesMental HealthOlder AdultsOral HealthReproductive HealthWellness

Review of LadyCare Magnet for Menopause Relief—The Pros and Cons

Updated on April 20, 2017
innerspin profile image

I am a mum of two young men. I enjoy detective novels, psychological thrillers, country walks, and eating out in quiet pubs.

While some women have little trouble during menopause, others suffer a host of unpleasant symptoms. These can include mood swings, hot flashes, night sweats, difficulty sleeping, anxiety, depression, breast tenderness, stomach bloating, and fatigue.

As I reached mid- to late-forties, I happened to come across an advert for a small magnet that claimed to reduce or eliminate menopausal problems. It made interesting reading. By wearing the device against your lower belly, you could find relief from troublesome symptoms.

At the time, I had no issues, but decided to invest in a magnet. Why wait until there was a problem? If I could avoid experiencing any, so much the better.

As a bonus, the magnet also claimed to reduce cramps during menstruation. It didn't sound any bother to use. The payment was a one-off, no ongoing bills for health supplements. In my book, drug-free options are always a good thing. I placed an order.

The two magnets work together
The two magnets work together | Source

Using the magnets

The product arrived by post, neatly packaged. There are two magnets, the larger one around an inch and a half long and an inch across. The smaller round "button" magnet helps keep it in place. Both are covered in smooth plastic, with a reassuringly solid feel.

Instructions are included, along with a telephone helpline number in case further advice is needed.

You fix the magnets into underwear about four inches below the naval. The larger magnet goes against your skin, while the button attaches to the outer side of the cloth. Overnight, I used them with pyjama trousers, basically keeping the magnets against my belly 24/7.

Ladies who don't wear pyjamas may need to consider panties. It's a matter of personal choice if this is a problem.

At first, I worried that the magnets might dislodge, and fall off. Yes, it did happen, but only on a handful of occasions. I have had to fish one out of the lavatory...not ideal, but at least I didn't lose it. For the most part, they stayed in place remarkably well. They did accidentally go through a washing machine cycle with no ill effect.

Considering that I used the magnets over a long timescale (roughly four years), they are robust, and show no signs of age.

Did it help?

I would say, in my case, the magnets did help reduce monthly cramps.

Time went by, and I did have a couple of short spells of hot flashes. These were mostly in the evening, very sudden, but passed quickly. Further down the line, there was a brief phase of night sweats. I kept wearing the magnets, and things settled well. It was interesting to experience in an odd way, though I'm glad it didn't go on long.

Other than that, I have little else to report regarding unpleasant symptoms. There is no way to tell if this is thanks to the magnets, or if I was going to be fortunate in any case. I remember my mother had a tough time around this stage of life, as did my elder sister, so I'm grateful not to have followed in their footsteps.

Views of others

Results from using LadyCare magnets for menopausal symptoms do seem to vary. The majority of reviews I read recently were positive to a lesser or greater degree. Most of the women chose to use them after experiencing difficulties, and in the main, found relief. Some had been at the end of their tether, and really hadn't expected the difference it made.

A handful of users felt the product was a waste of money, as it made no impact on their lives.

One reviewer felt she had an unwanted reaction, saying the first night she wore them, she had to get up to urinate eight times. She didn't use them after that. My personal opinion is that it could well have been a coincidence, but I can see it would be off putting.

The reviews were from people who started using the magnets fairly recently, in some cases a matter of a week or so. My input is from a long term perspective. I no longer wear them, having passed through that life stage, with minimal discomfort.

A slimline profile means it's hard to detect the magnets through clothes
A slimline profile means it's hard to detect the magnets through clothes | Source

What's the science behind the magnets?

This is where things are a little vague. The magnets apparently help balance the body's nervous system.

In the video (below), a Harley Street doctor admits he doesn't know quite how they work, despite seeing good results with his patients. He says there are no reports of unwanted side effects. There is ongoing research to learn about the science behind their effectiveness.

Personally, I don't feel the need to understand how they work, any more than knowing how painkillers or travel pills do.


Interviews with a LadyCare user and a doctor

Any problems with the LadyCare magnet?

As previously mentioned, on the very odd occasion the magnets would fall off. This never happened in an embarrassing situation in my case. At first, I didn't wear them to the gym, but once I'd gained confidence, they went everywhere with me.

The magnets did sometimes latch onto nearby metal, for instance a kitchen drawer handle. In all honesty, this was amusing rather than a big problem. You would need to be very close to something for the magnet to make a leap for it. I think it happened once with a metal basket in a store, but most baskets are plastic these days. A quick flick of the hand sorted things out. Never once did anyone comment on anything unusual happening.

A couple of reviews suggested the magnets upset the wearer's equilibrium. Apparently the helpline advised them to build up use rather than wear them constantly.

I read a review which said the magnet interfered with use of an iPad, which is something to be aware of and maybe investigate more. During the time I used the magnets, I didn't own a laptop, but regularly used desktop computers and mobile phones with no problem.

Update: As a test, I started wearing the magnets again recently. My laptop works the same as usual. I've been sleeping better and have more energy, so have decided to keep using them.

The smaller magnet fits centrally to the larger one
The smaller magnet fits centrally to the larger one | Source

Pros and Cons of the LadyCare Magnets

Pros
Cons
One-off payment
Science questionable
Non-invasive
Not guaranteed results
Easy to use
May fall off/get lost
No drugs
May attach to nearby metal
Discreet
May show through clingy clothes
Durable
Query disrupt iPads/laptops

In conclusion

Aids to health rarely suit everyone. From a personal point, I'm very glad to have used the LadyCare magnets. Simple to wear, with only the occasional "Oops!" moment, they stood the test of time, having been dropped, sterilized, and through the washer by accident. The magnets look the same as the day they arrived.

The only way to tell whether the magnets would work for an individual seems to be by using them. This is true of medicine, health supplements and lifestyle choices in general. There are no guarantees. Having an open mind and willingness to try something a little different can bring good results.

So what do you think?

Have you tried the LadyCare magnets?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Desiree Alleyne 3 weeks ago

      I started using Lady Care on Tuesday 27th June 2017 in the evening. Before that I was on HRT which eased the symtoms but caused painful swelling of both breasts which resulted in me having to buy larger and firmer bras with bone. I stopped using it and started using the herbal black Cohosh which helped. But I had to use at least four tabs a day to get relief until a friendin the UK told me about Lady Care Magnet. After receiving one I used it the same evening. It now two days and I have stopped using the Black Cohosh, the hot flashes, tingling in the toes have all stopped. I am getting a better sleep and feeling my energy coming back. I can honestly say that for me it worked instantly.. My only regret is that Ivdid not know about it before because I have been suffering for 15 years. . #feelingbrandnewthanksladycare.

    • profile image

      Natalie 3 weeks ago

      I had my lady care for just over a month, it's the best thing ever. Within two days of wearing it my hot flushes stopped. I now have a decent nights sleep. It's the best thing I've purchased in a long time. I would recommend this to anyone going through the menopause. Thank you for inventing this.

    • profile image

      Rebecca 6 months ago

      I have been suffering with night sweats for over 12 months now (generally 1-2 per night) and whilst I haven't tried anything else my google search today brought this up. I am sure my interrupted or lack of sleep is contributing to my moodiness and the ability to cry at the drop of a hat while becoming a total stress head. A sceptic to say the least but an open minded one so I've taken the plunge and ordered the ladycare plus (I lead a stressful life at the moment with a lot of issues going on that are contributing to this so think the extra money should be well spent). I am eager to try this and will repost in a few months with my results. For reference I am 42 and have sailed through every aspect of womanhood and childbirth so to suddenly find myself appearing to have jumped straight into menopause is a surprise but I guess we can't have it all plain sailing! Will keep you posted.

    • profile image

      Karen Smith 9 months ago

      Iv been using this product for a month now and I can honestly say its worked for me.I was getting terrible hot flushes during the day and night sweats at night.well done to the makers.

    • profile image

      Sally Robers 9 months ago

      This is worth a try. I have used it for a week and already feel better. Reduced flashes, better mood , less anxiety and more controlled appetite! I do not know how it works but it really seems to. Like other reviewers I wear mine 24/7

      Good luck.

    • profile image

      Janice Wheeler 10 months ago

      Well after having no symptoms to suddenly 6/7 a day and 3 a night within a month,,I decided to try this ..was very sceptical but actually after a week I noticed the difference...blooming amazing!!!!

    • profile image

      LotsOfCats 12 months ago

      I started using one a few years ago, and my night sweats went from 10-12 a night to 0-2. My daughter uses one for cramps. The only electronic interference I've experienced is that my Kindle Voyage will shut off if I place it near the magnet.

    • innerspin profile image
      Author

      innerspin 17 months ago from uk

      That's great to hear, Linny, I'm glad you're finding benefits. I've not heard of the LadyCare Plus, but would give it a go if needed, I was so pleased with the original.

    • profile image

      Linny. 17 months ago

      This has worked wonders for me! Started wearing mine about 2 months ago and right from the word go, the majority of my symptoms diminished. I started sleeping better, hardly have any night sweats, (I was getting about 2/3 a night) and only the occasional hot flush during the day, (previously around 6/7 times a day). It's been a godsend! I still have loss of libido at times and moodiness, but not to the extent I was getting them. I've heard of the LadyCare Plus, which I may invest in to get even better results, as I believe it helps with anxiety issues too?

    • innerspin profile image
      Author

      innerspin 3 years ago from uk

      Hello Moon Daisy, I'd be very interested to hear your views once you've tried the magnets. Hopefully yours should arrive soon. Yes, it's funny how results vary, but well worth a try.

    • Moon Daisy profile image

      Moon Daisy 3 years ago from London

      Hi innerspin, I'm glad this product seemed to work for you, and thanks for the interesting review. I especially like your list of pros and cons, very well thought out!

      I've actually just ordered one of these, and I've been searching out positive reviews in a bid to justify my purchase! I'm due to receive it in a few days time, so I'll let you know how it goes.

      I've been having a lot of peri-menopause type symptoms for a few years, and hate the idea of taking HRT. I've tried a few herbs, but they didn't agree with me, so I am very keen to try this.

      In truth the reviews I've found are a bit mixed. For some people it works really well, but for others it does nothing, so I'm really curious about whether it will work for me.

      And I'm wondering why it works so well for some women, and so badly for others. I'm wondering if it depends on a person's hormone levels. Perhaps it works better for women who are producing insufficient estrogen, for example? I'd love to know the mechanics behind it, but in truth, nobody seems to know. They need some proper research on this!

    • innerspin profile image
      Author

      innerspin 3 years ago from uk

      erorantes it's good to know there are different options available, thanks for commenting.

    • erorantes profile image

      Ana Maria Orantes 3 years ago from Miami Florida

      Thank you for writing about Review Of Lady Care Magnet Drug Free Relief For Menopause Symptoms. It is agood thing to know for ladies that have pain , and no medicine works for them. It is a great idea for to wear the magnet and be safe.

    • innerspin profile image
      Author

      innerspin 3 years ago from uk

      Hello Meisjunk, sorry your mum is having such problems. I've seen magnets used in bracelets before now and heard good reports about them, so thought this variation was worth a try.

      I wrote the hub after hearing a couple of workmates comparing notes on their experiences of being menopausal. Anything that helps can only be a good thing.

    • Meisjunk profile image

      Jennifer Kessner 3 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Very interesting hub! My mom is the first of her siblings to go through menopause (her siblings and even her mother had hysterectomies), so she's had a long, hot then cold, awful menopausal experience. She's tried everything out there.

      Except magnets! I'll have to tell her about these. I used magnets when I was a teenager. There wasn't much science behind the bracelets either, but I'll tell you what, I was always in a better mood when I wore mine!

      Whether it's a placebo or not, I'll use it if it works!

      Voted up. I'll be sure to share it with my mother. Thanks again! =)

    • innerspin profile image
      Author

      innerspin 3 years ago from uk

      Thank you, awordlover, I appreciate the share and comment. It was the non invasive aspect that made me try the product.

    • innerspin profile image
      Author

      innerspin 3 years ago from uk

      FlourishAnyway thanks for reading and commenting. I only discovered them by chance.

    • awordlover profile image

      awordlover 3 years ago

      This was an interesting read. I'm on the far side of menopause now, but wish I had known about something like this when I started. I used Black Cohosh after years of trying many other remedies. I would have liked to give this a try, less invasive and no side effects.

      Thank you for presenting this. It can help many other women who are now dealing with menopausal symptoms. Voted up and shared.

      Rachael

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 3 years ago from USA

      I have never heard of these and read your review with interest.

    Click to Rate This Article